Content and Structure


About The Triple Degree Program

The EMC cohort 2024 will be a two-year triple-degree program with Aalto University, RWTH Aachen University and MU Leoben.  Students are enrolled at all three universities during their studies. They study one semester at each partner university and move together from university to university as a group.  The EMC starts in September in Helsinki at Aalto University (Finland) with the focus on deposit characterisation. Interesting courses cover geology, rock mechanics, economics, processing and recycling and are accompanied by an excursion to northern Finland.  After a 3-month break, during which students have the opportunity to complete an internship at a company (e.g. one of FEMPs partners), students move to RWTH Aachen University (Germany) to learn about deposit sustainability. The third semester starts in October at Montanuniversität Leoben (Austria) and covers aspects regarding deposit development and in-depth courses about mining.  In the final semester students develop their master thesis project, which may be carried out in cooperation with a company.  Upon completion students receive a M.Sc. degree of each university and a certificate of participation in the EMC exchange program by FEMP.

Semester 1


September to December 2024


Aalto University, Finland on Campus

Aalto covers aspects around deposit characterisation, focusing on economic geology and mineral economics, mate- rials processing and synthesis and rock mechanics.

Economic Geology and Mineral Economics (5 ECTS)

Rock Mechanics (5 ECTS)

Field Experience and Project in Hard Rock Mining (2 ECTS)

Fundamentals of Minerals Engineering and Recycling (5 ECTS)

Fundamentals of Pyrometallury (5)

Fundamentals of Hydrometallurgy (5)

Project Communication (3)

ECTS: 30

Semester 2


April to September 2025


RWTH Aachen, Germany on Campus

RTWH Aachen will offer courses connected to deposit sustainability. Courses address mine wastes, feasibility studies and mining and modelling.

Reserve Modelling and Estimation (5 ECTS)

Mine Ventilation (5 ECTS)

Mine Design and Simulation (5 ECTS)

Case study: Mining Projects (5 ECTS)

Feasibility Studies of Mining Projects (5 ECTS)

Mine Waste (5 ECTS)

ECTS: 30

Semester 3


October 2025 to January 2026


Leoben, Austria on Campus

The MU Leoben provides courses with focus on deposit development, those include underground mining, deposit modelling and occupational safety.

Continuous Mining Methods and Conveying Technologies (3)

Open Pit Mining (4 ECTS)

Underground Mining (4 ECTS)

Sustainable Development (6 ECTS)

Occupational and Process Safety (3 ECTS)

Elective Studies (4 ECTS)

Mineral Economics (3 ECTS)

ECTS: 30

Semester 4


February to August 2024


Industry Partner or university

The thesis semester covers a 6-month 30 ECTS full-time thesis.
Thesis might be done with industry partners or at research facilities within the universities.

ECTS: 30


During the EMC program you will be invited to join the EMC excursions to mine sites, equipment manufacturers and processing plants to gain a deeper insight into the industry.

  • Leoben: you will visit the surface mine Erzberg and the underground mines Breitenau and Mittersill
  • Aachen: will offer you trips to equipment manufacturers in the Ruhr area, quarries, salt- and lignite mines
  • Helsinki: a whole excursion week to the northern part will be organized for you

These field trips are also a great way to build your network within the industry and form stringer connections with your cohort.

Our Partner Universities

montan logo

Aalto University is a multidisciplinary research university created in 2010 from the merger of three leading universities in Finland (Helsinki University of Technology, Helsinki School of Economics and University of Art and Design Helsinki). The main campus of Aalto University is located in Otaniemi, Espoo, which is a neighbouring city to the capital Helsinki.

At Aalto, there are about 20 000 degree seeking students. The students are supported by approximately 5000 staff members of which 380 are professors.


Germany’s largest technical university and one of the most renowned in Europe. More than 560 professors and roughly 10,270 research and support staff are responsible for the education and research training of 47,000 undergraduate and graduate students, among which 14,160 are international students.

Teaching and research are characterised by an international, innovative and interdisciplinary approach and close links to industry​

montan logo

Montanuniversität Leoben researches and teaches for a better tomorrow. With us, innovative ideas become sustainable reality. Our actions are aligned with five core values that guide and affect everything we do: energy efficiency, climate neutrality, sustainability, zero waste, and circular design.
Our university stands for top-notch student education in all bachelor's and master's programmes, and for excellence in research and science in our three areas of competence - advanced resources, smart materials and sustainable processing.

Scroll to Top